Anxiety and Artistry.

I have it. I am currently covered in a rash from neck to ankle. Reason being? Auditions. Disney, more specifically. I got myself so worked up about an audition(that-surprise!-I missed), that I woke up covered in hives. I wish I would use this power for good…like, getting me to Canada, or on a film set. I’m blogging to slightly make up for not blogging. I try to blog whenever I am moved but I realized, I should blog because I need to. Whenever. So…The 48 hour film festival: Yes! Got that! Another audition that rendered me anxious but I somehow ended up with a good audition, filled with laughs, “she’s so funny” ‘s and shaking hands. My first film audtion, thank you, thank you. I just bowed. Regular job hunting, preparing myself for future auditions and GREATNESS. I’m reading The Artists’ Way: a spiritual pathway to creativity…or something like that. It’s gonna help me unblock and write beautiful songs that are gonna get me out of here and cause lots of people to sing along and have me meet other people like me. Cravings: sweet stuff and house parties and my guitar and my MacBookPro but mostly being around other artists. I got a taste last Saturday at an open mic night followed by a poetry slam. My friend Ben B. slayed(thank you, Tegan), and went home with the grand prize: 90 bucks! Amazing! He inspired me because-well-he is happiness, as a poem of his states. He also inspires me because he brings humanity to art. This should sound oxymoronic but then again, we live in the age of William Hungs and Paris Hiltons. He’s able to spit straight fire as a slam artist without falling into the slam trap: That-rhythm-that-trite-pattern-of-breaking-up-your-words-for-dramatic-effect…ugh… Your words should be your dramatic effect. Your passion should be your dramatic effect. I love poetry and I hear some really good shit that’s tainted by trying to appear a certain way. no disrespect, I get it. I’ve done it in my own way. Musical theatre has it’s patterns too. Anyhow, I was very grateful to be around artists and I thirst for the next encounter. I know they’re out here, I just gotta find ’em. Off to learn minor scales.

MWAH!

Leave a Reply

